The progressive rock supergroup Flying Colors has just announced a new live album, DVD and Blu-Ray, and in addition to a no doubt stunning display of chops and songcraft, the band has also gone all-out with the technical presentation.

Featuring guitarist Steve Morse, drummer Mike Portnoy, bass player Dave LaRue and singer/songwriter Casey McPherson, Second Flight: Live At The Z7 offers a number of different ways to listen. For instance, viewers can listen in 5.1-surround from the two best seats in the house: behind the front-of-house soundboard, or right in the front row. And in another first, an audio-only version of the concert is available in Headphone Surround, which recreates the front-row surround mix entirely in headphones. The headphone mix will be available in formats up to uncompressed 24 bit/192KHz from HD audio distributors such as Pono. And each mix was mastered to 2" analogue tape and then digitised separately for each audio format by mix/mastering engineer Rich Mouser (Transatlantic, Weezer).

The audio itself also underwent a new audio engineering process called Harmonic Phrase Analysis. Developed specifically for the show at Manchester Metropolitan University in England, this reduces the unwanted processing normally associated with contemporary live recordings, giving the sound field a more organic feel.

Here’s a hi-def preview of the song Mask Machine. Steve Morse says “I really like Casey’s more aggressive vocal style in this song, and the lyrics are deep enough to appreciate on their own. It’s a fun song to play, and was a great way to end the show!”

Second Flight: Live At The Z7 will be released on November 13, 2015 via Mascot Label Group/Music Theories Recordings.

Pre-order it here:

Tracklist 3LP & 2CD

01. Overture 01:28

0.2 Open Up Your Eyes 12:16

03. Bombs Away 04:58

04. Kayla 05:20

05. Shoulda Coulda Woulda 05:18

06. The Fury Of My Love 05:34

07. A Place In Your World 06:06

08. Forever In A Daze 04:22

09. One Love Forever 07:21

10. Colder Months 03:49

11. Peaceful Harbor 06:43

12. The Storm 05:09

13. Cosmic Symphony 12:35

14. Mask Machine 07:03

15. Infinite Fire 12:47

16. Peaceful Harbor (Orchestral Version)* 03:23

*Bonus track 3LP and digital only

Tracklist DVD & Blu-ray

01. Open Up Your Eyes

02. Bombs Away

03. Kayla

04. Shoulda Coulda Woulda

05. The Fury Of My Love

06. A Place In Your World

07. Forever In A Daze

08. One Love Forever

09. Colder Months

10. Peaceful Harbor

11. The Storm

12. Cosmic Symphony

13. Mask Machine

14. Infinite Fire